French for the Future presents the 35 Grade 10 and 11 students selected to take part in the 2023 National Ambassador Youth Forum! The choice was difficult, the 150 applications we received impressed us both by their demonstration of the candidates’ motivation and by the passion for the French language that shone through in the texts and videos they sent in. In the end, 35 students stood out from the crowd and will be meeting from August 13 to 18 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

The teens will take part in activities discussing the importance of bilingualism and learning French. They will also receive training in project management, enabling them to create their own francophone events during the following school year. This will give them the tools they need to become bilingual leaders in their communities.

The ambassadors help share the mission of French for the Future across the country, and will continue the work of last year’s 33 ambassadors. Namirembe Nafatsawo, 2022 ambassador from Le Pas, Manitoba, has already passed on a message to them, “Be ready to work, be ready to learn, and above all be ready to have fun!”

For the 35 lucky selected participants, all costs associated with their participation in the forum will be covered by the organization. The French for the Future team looks forward to providing them with an unforgettable week that will strengthen their sense of belonging to Canada’s Francophone and Francophile communities.

The 35 ambassadors of the 2023 FNJA:

  • Emily Chen, Edmonton AB

  • Dorothy Fang, Calgary AB

  • Grace Mfou Eboa, Edmonton AB

  • Michael Yang, Edmonton AB

  • Hidaya Youssouf, Edmonton AB

  • Joshua Zhou, Edmonton AB

  • Laura Alcock, Saanich BC

  • Liberté Baileyvaudandaine, Victoria BC

  • Rhett Cotton, Vancouver BC

  • Ruby Craig, Surrey BC

  • Ashley Hall, Delta BC

  • Owen Wang, Vancouver BC

  • London Fraser, Ste-Geneviève MB

  • Mireille Lemoine, Ste-Agathe MB

  • Neela Vermeulen, Winnipeg MB

  • Alelia Miller, Sackville NB

  • Romuald Torrecilla, Quispamsis NB

  • Alyssa Dober, Marystown NL

  • Jacob Farrell, Paradise NL

  • Eraj Badar, Pickering ON

  • Stella Bégin, Orangeville ON

  • Alessandro De Menech, London ON

  • Kiana Gholizadehvazvani, Ottawa ON

  • Trudeau Gulati, Paris ON

  • Siena Mazzotta, Toronto ON

  • Justine Perreault, Ottawa ON

  • Kelly Wang, Toronto ON

  • Michael Suyavong, Toronto ON

  • Frida Schneider, Stratford PE

  • Ava Sulpher, Malpeque PE

  • Chelsie Huang, Brossard QC

  • Phoebe Norman, St-Donat QC

  • Neyva Abbasi, Moose Jaw SK

  • Nyshane Clarke, Regina SK

  • Kassia Emery, Whitehorse YT

Discover our ambassadors’ profiles!